Preheader Home Facebook Twitter LinkedIn

Minnesota auto insuranceAcross the country, drivers are required to purchase auto insurance to protect the safety of everyone who shares the roadways. However, minimum coverage requirements do vary from state to state. Since our agency is located in Minnesota, we'd like to take the opportunity to explain the Minnesota car insurance laws in detail.

In the state of Minnesota, all drivers must purchase an auto insurance policy that includes No-Fault Coverage, Liability Coverage and Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage. Let's break that down a little further.
  • No-Fault Coverage: This helps pay your medical bills in the event of a covered accident, regardless of who is at fault. The personal injury protection (PIP) portion of this coverage may extend to your family, and it can carry with you when you're a passenger in someone else's vehicle. In Minnesota, you must own at least $20,000 of medical coverage and $20,000 of loss of income coverage.
  • Liability Coverage: This helps pay for the injuries and/or property damage of others that stem from an incident caused by you. Bills will first dig into the victim's PIP coverage, then your liability coverage can pay for excess costs. In Minnesota, you must own at least $30,000 for injuries per person, $60,000 for total injuries per accident and $10,000 for property damage.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: This helps pay for your expenses if you're involved in an accident in which the at-fault driver does not have auto insurance, or does not have enough coverage to fund your losses. In Minnesota, you must own at least $25,000 for injuries per person and $50,000 for total injuries per accident.
But just because there are minimum requirements doesn't mean that's enough coverage to serve your needs. Work with your independent insurance agent to get an appropriate auto insurance policy to protect your investment. Your policy may include higher coverage limits, along with any combination of collision, comprehensive, towing, roadside assistance and rental car coverage.

Be sure to carry proof of your auto insurance each time you get behind the wheel. Driving without your insurance information can result in misdemeanor charges. However, you may be able to get the charges dropped if you bring proof of insurance to the court before the citation's deadline. But this only works if you do in fact have insurance. If you're caught driving without auto insurance in Minnesota, you may receive a fine, have your license suspended or even wind up in jail.

It's no surprise that car insurance is important for every driver, but that doesn't mean you have to pay an arm and a leg for the right coverage. Ask your agent about discount options you may qualify for in order to save money.

Get a quote today. Call Lancette Agency, LLC at (651) 264-1230 for more information on Minnesota auto insurance.
Share |

No Comments

Post a Comment
Required (Not Displayed)

All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012

View Mobile Version
  • Auto Owners Insurance
  • AAA
  • Selective Insurance
  • West Bend Insurance
  • Progressive Insurance
  • Dairyland Insurance
Local: (651) 264-1230|Fax: (651) 264-1233 1322 Helmo Ave N|St Paul, MN 55128
Home|Our Products|Customer Service|Payment Options|Report a Claim
About Us|Our Carriers|Contact Us
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn
Powered By Insurance Website Builder